I have a question: How do you properly play a game? Personally I love to start a game and play it every day until I’m finished. It’s a very satisfying experience, however, recently I’ve been starting my games, getting anywhere from a third-way to half-way through it, and then… stopping. For months. I started Twilight Princess HD when it came out, in Spring 2016. I got to the third dungeon (or about 29% done) and just didn’t play again. For three months. I did the same thing with Uncharted 2 and LoZ: The Wind Waker. I did beat Splatoon with no breaks, though. So I have to ask: How are you supposed to play a game?

First up, binge playing, or playing a game with no breaks until you’re done. I’ve done this with the Batman Arkham games, Super Paper Mario, and, as I’ve said before, Splatoon. This method gives a very satisfying experience as well as an exiting one. However, you can’t really reflect on the game until after you’ve played, and you may have forgotten the beginning parts of the adventure. I will admit that I usually feel more excited about the gameplay at the end of it.

Now on the side of taking breaks, or taking long pauses between start and finish. I’ve done this with Uncharted 2, Wind Waker, and Fire Emblem Fates. Sometimes though, the breaks are too long. I often find myself restarting save files after I’ve forgotten what I was doing. However, I usually find myself enjoying the story a lot more with this method.

So it really depends on what you value more, Story or Gameplay. In the end, it’s your choice.

